Trent Reznor releases instrumental version of The Fragile, continues to tease fans

Earlier this week, in an attempt to draw subscribers to his new Apple streaming-music venture, Trent Reznor (Nine Inch Nails, How to destroy angels), posted instrumental versions of his 2005 album, With Teeth, as well as his 1999 opus, The Fragile.

The latter contains alternate mixes of certain tracks, featuring new bits of static, noise, and texture. Some elements are louder, some are muted, and, in one case, there's a fun little drum machine which could not be more out of place. Alongside the original 23-track album, there are three previously unreleased tracks, one of which became the vinyl exclusive then b-side, '10 Miles High', and one which was repurposed for Saul Williams' groundbreaking The Inevitable Rise and Liberation of Niggy Tardust.

Some fans have speculated that this release, along with that of Reznor's recent rearrangement of 'The Wretched' for a Batmam: Arkham Knight trailer, indicates that the long-awaited Fragile deluxe edition is right around the corner. When contacted directly regarding the potential upcoming reissue, Nine Inch Nails' PR responded with mad cackling, what sounded like pig noises, and someone screaming the word "Soon" repeatedly a weighty silence.

Overall Rating (0)

0 out of 5 stars
  • No comments found