Bob Mould discusses 40th anniversary Minnesota shows - News - Soundblab

Bob Mould discusses 40th anniversary Minnesota shows

Bob Mould discusses 40th anniversary Minnesota shows
Bob Mould discusses 40th anniversary Minnesota shows

Bob Mould and band head out on tour tomorrow (Feb 14th) to promote new album Sunshine Rock (Merge Records). Along the way, Mould will play two special 40th-anniversary shows at The Palace (Mar 30th) and Turf Club (Mar 31st) in his home town of Minnesota, Tickets for all dates are on sale here.

Mould had this to say about the anniversary: "I started my "professional" stage career as a musician on Mar 30, 1979 at a tiny bar called Ron's Randolph Inn, located near Macalester College in St. Paul, MN. The name of the band was Buddy and the Returnables - a four-piece fronted by keyboardist/singer Charlie Pine. I was the guitarist, Greg Norton was the bassist, and Grant Hart was the drummer. We played two consecutive nights.

Moments before the end of the Mar 31 show, an audience member yanked the cable out of the Farfisa organ that Charlie was playing, and the three remaining musicians - who immediately went on to be known as Hüsker Dü - launched into a handful of hastily-written originals.

Fast forward 40 years: I'll be performing in St. Paul with my longtime bandmates, Jason Narducy, and Jon Wurster, at Palace Theater on Mar 30 and Turf Club on Mar 31.

It's a big anniversary, but my celebration of 40 years in music is for one weekend only. I'm typically not the nostalgic type when it comes to my work - but I would be remiss if I didn't make mention of the importance of my early days in St. Paul, my gratitude to Grant and Greg for those first eight years of music, and my sincere thanks to the people of Minnesota for the centuries of support. Looking forward to seeing you on the Sunshine Rock tour, wherever it may be."

All tour dates

Thu Feb 14 - Washington, DC - 9:30 Club (w/ Titus Andronicus)
Fri Feb 15 - Philadelphia, PA - Union Transfer (w/ Titus Andronicus)
Sat Feb 16 - Boston, MA - Paradise Rock Club (w/ Screaming Females)SOLD OUT
Mon Feb 18 - Toronto, ON - Phoenix Concert Theatre (w/ The Drew Thomson Foundation)
Tue Feb 19 - Pittsburgh, PA - Mr. Smalls (w/ Murder Girls)
Thu Feb 21 - New York, NY - Brooklyn Steel (w/ Titus Andronicus)
Fri Feb 22 - Chicago, IL - Metro (w/ Airstream Futures)
Sat Feb 23 - Chicago, IL - Metro (w/ Beach Bunny)
Mon Feb 25 - Ft. Collins, CO - Washington's (w/ In The Whale)
Tue Feb 26 - Denver, CO - Gothic Theatre (w/ The Trujillo Company)
Thu Feb 28 - San Diego, CA - The Casbah (w/ Exasperation) SOLD OUT
Fri Mar 1 - Los Angeles, CA - Teragram Ballroom (w/ Criminal Hygiene)
Sat Mar 2 - San Francisco, CA - The Fillmore (w/ Film School)
Fri Mar 8 - Hamburg, Germany - Gruenspan (w/ Pabst)
Sat Mar 9 - Berlin, Germany - Columbia Theater (w/ Pabst)
Mon Mar 11 - Düsseldorf, Germany - Zakk (w/ Styrofoam)
Tue Mar 12 - Leuven, Belgium - Het Depot (w/ Styrofoam)
Thu Mar 14 - London, UK - Electric Ballroom (w/ Pabst)
Fri Mar 15 - Leeds, UK - Brudenell Social Club (w/ Pabst) SOLD OUT
Sat Mar 16 - Edinburg, UK - The Liquid Rooms (w/ Pabst)SOLD OUT
Sun Mar 17 - Manchester, UK - Academy 2 Manchester (w/ Pabst)
Sat Mar 30 - St. Paul, MN - The Palace (w/ Porcupine)
Sun Mar 31 - St. Paul, MN - Turf Club SOLD OUT
Tue Apr 2 - Dallas, TX - Granada (w/ Will Johnson of Centro-matic)
Wed Apr 3 - Austin, TX - Mohawk (w/ Will Johnson of Centro-matic)
Fri Apr 5 - Portland, OR - Wonder Ballroom (w/ Hutch Harris)
Sat Apr 6 - Seattle, WA - Neumos (w/ Hutch Harris)
Sun Apr 7 - Vancouver, BC - Rickshaw (w/ Hutch Harris)

Comments (0)

There are no comments posted here yet
Related Articles
Bob Mould discusses 40th anniversary Minnesota shows - News - Soundblab
Lungbutter - Honey
  • 05/23/2019
  • By Mark Moody
Bob Mould discusses 40th anniversary Minnesota shows - News - Soundblab
Seasurfer - Vampires
  • 07/20/2018
  • By Steve Ricciutti