Julien Baker, Phoebe Bridgers, Lucy Dacus release EP and tour - News - Soundblab

Julien Baker, Phoebe Bridgers, Lucy Dacus release EP and tour

by Mark Moody Rating: Release Date:
Julien Baker, Phoebe Bridgers, Lucy Dacus release EP and tour
Julien Baker, Phoebe Bridgers, Lucy Dacus release EP and tour

With several outstanding releases to their collective credit in the early stages of their career, rising indie songwriters Phoebe Bridgers, Julien Baker, and Lucy Dacus have announced an upcoming EP and joint tour. Lisen to Stay Down below.

Operating as boygenius, the trio’s EP will be released via Matador Records on November 9. Their tour starts off in Baker’s home state at the Ryman in Nashville just prior to the EP’s release and ends up a few weeks later in Bridgers’ hometown of Los Angeles. A great chance to catch all three of these solo show worthy artists under one roof and likely playing together as well. The EP consists of two songs apiece with backing by the other artists. Matador has already released a song by each, giving fans more than a fair share of what’s to come.

Julien Baker explains: “When we met, Lucy and Phoebe and I were in similar places in our lives and our musical endeavors, but also had similar attitudes toward music that engendered an immediate affinity. Lucy and Phoebe are incredibly gifted performers, and I am a fan of their art outside of being their friends, but they are also both very wise, discerning and kind people whom I look up to in character as much as in talent. Everyone seemed both confident enough to present ideas and fight for their individual vision, but considerate and humble enough to make decisions which ultimately served the song. It was a process that required a balance of determination and forthrightness with graciousness and pliability, and I think that we all did a good job of enacting that.”

Tour dates below:

Sunday, November 4 Ryman Auditorium, Nashville TN

Tuesday, November 6 Brooklyn Steel, Brooklyn NY

Wednesday, November 7 Brooklyn Steel, Brooklyn NY

Thursday, November 8 Orpheum Theatre, Boston MA                                                       

Saturday, November 10 Danforth Music Hall, Toronto ON

Sunday, November 11 Majestic Theatre, Detroit MI

Monday, November 12 Thalia Hall, Chicago IL

Tuesday, November 13 Thalia Hall, Chicago IL

Thursday, November 15 The Pageant, St. Louis MO

Friday, November 16 The Sylvee, Madison WI

Saturday, November 17 First Avenue, Minneapolis MN

Monday, November 19 Ogden Theatre, Denver CO

Tuesday, November 20 The Depot, Salt Lake City UT

Friday, November 23 Commodore Ballroom, Vancouver BC

Saturday, November 24 The Moore Theatre, Seattle WA

Sunday, November 25 Crystal Ballroom, Portland OR

Monday, November 26 Fox Theater, Oakland CA

Thursday, November 29 The Observatory North Park, San Diego CA

Friday, November 30 The Wiltern, Los Angeles CA

Comments (0)

There are no comments posted here yet
Related Articles
Julien Baker, Phoebe Bridgers, Lucy Dacus release EP and tour - News - Soundblab
Julia Jacklin - Crushing
  • 02/10/2019
  • By Mark Moody
Julien Baker, Phoebe Bridgers, Lucy Dacus release EP and tour - News - Soundblab
boygenius - boygenius
  • 10/20/2018
  • By Mark Moody
Julien Baker, Phoebe Bridgers, Lucy Dacus release EP and tour - News - Soundblab
Lucy Dacus - Historian
  • 02/13/2018
  • By Mark Moody