Spiritualized announce new album 'And Nothing Hurt' - News - Soundblab

Spiritualized announce new album 'And Nothing Hurt'

Spiritualized announce new album 'And Nothing Hurt'
Spiritualized announce new album 'And Nothing Hurt'

Jason Pierce, AKA J. Spaceman has announced his return as Spiritualized with a new album. And Nothing Hurt will be released September 7th on Bella Union in the UK and Europe, and Fat Possum in the US. Check out the video below for I'm Your Man.

Recorded in Jason Pierce's East London home, as opposed to a studio, Pierce explains how that change in recording affected the album, “Making this record on my own sent me more mad than anything I’ve done before. We’d been playing these big shows and I really wanted to capture that sound we were making but, without the funds to do, I had to find a way to work within the constraints of what money I had. So I bought a laptop and made it all in a little room in my house. The biggest thing for me was to try to make it sound like a studio session. But I was new to it all, I didn’t have all the short cuts people use as when they’re making records – I just sat there for weeks… for months… moving every level up bit by bit just to try to get the sounds right. With a bit of trial and lot of error, I found ways of doing something that’s quite simple if you’ve got the resources. I spent two weeks listening to classical records and strumming the chord that I wanted on my guitar. When I found something I wanted to match, I’d sample that bit and go for the next chord and try to match that. It took weeks, trying to put together and layer convincing string sounds.”

Track List
1. A Perfect Miracle
2. I’m Your Man
3. Here It Comes (The Road) Let’s Go
4. Let’s Dance
5. On The Sunshine
6. Damaged
7. The Morning After
8. The Prize
9. Sail On Through

You can pre-order the album here.

The band have also announced a string of live dates in support of the album

21 SEP – London – Eventim Apollo
22 SEP – Angers, France – Levitation
23 SEP – Paris – Cabaret Sauvage
11 OCT – New York City – Kings Theatre
16 OCT – Los Angeles - The Orpheum Theatre
2 NOV – Barcelona – Razzmatazz
3 NOV – Madrid – La Rivera
24 NOV – Berlin – Synasthesie Festival

Comments (0)

There are no comments posted here yet
Related Articles