Buffalo Tom announce 25th Anniversary Reissue of 'Let Me Come Over' - News - Soundblab

Buffalo Tom announce 25th Anniversary Reissue of 'Let Me Come Over'

2017 marks the 25th anniversary of Let Me Come Over, and to celebrate, Beggars Arkive will reissue it together with a live album – in fact the first ever live release from Buffalo Tom. The show was recorded in early 1992 just prior to the release of Let Me Come Over at U.L.U. which stood for University Of London Union (and is now known as Student Central). The band mixed the live album at Q Division in Boston, and it was mastered at Abbey Road. The double LP contains 10 live tracks, and the cd + digital edition contains the entire show (17 songs).

Buffalo Tom have never really stopped making music or playing shows, and 2017 has seen them celebrating the album’s anniversary with commemorative live shows, including a date at Islington Assembly Hall in London on 9 June. For these shows, they have been performing two sets – the first being Let Me Come Over in full, and the second being favorites from throughout their career. They have also funded a new album via Pledge Music which will see release later this year.

On its first two albums, Buffalo Tom constructed towering guitar-scapes and mastered a naturalistic version of quiet-to-loud dynamics. So, for its third, we found Buffalo Tom shedding a bit, but not all of the skin it had worn and emerging with its charms more front and center. Let Me Come Over is the sound of the trio exiting the insular underground for the wide world of “alternative” rock--but more or less bringing its best moves along with it, too. Previously loosely linked with fellow travelers Dinosaur Jr. and Uncle Tupelo via a similar three-piece format, stunning depth of songwriting and association with Boston’s Fort Apache Studios--it’s not hard to imagine Buffalo Tom wanted to stake a claim stylistically. Yet, LMCO never feels like a break with the past, it’s a transition. Inside that abstruse cover are undeniably magnificent tunes.

“Staples” is emblematic of a band in flux with a grungy lyrical conceit rendered with hi-fi guitar squalls. It’s the first single “Taillights Fade,” however, where the band appears to find a new comfort zone, at an unhurried speed where Janovitz’s storytelling and car crash metaphors stand the best chance of making an impression. It plays with quiet-to-loud dynamics, and as for emotional expression, it swings for the bleachers--and a place on alternative rock radio. “Mineral” jangles in a similar vein and makes grand gestures. “Darl” and “Larry” (referencing the brothers from the Newhart show I always thought?) are solid but disparate cuts. Colbourn’s “Darl” feels a bit like an outlier with its thrashy feel--it sounds better louder. “Larry” has a sweetness to it that’s augmented by its busker’s strumming.

Released as a second single, “Velvet Roof” had given us a taste of what was newly possible, a hook-heavy stomper with a densely woven rhythm matched by tight lyric writing--each piece expertly crafted to go into the next, no frayed ends here--and a snazzy mix by Ron Saint Germain, a pro who would later bring out the best in Soundgarden. A wailing harmonica solo gives it all a swagger that’s kind of new for the band. “Stymied” summons the emotional intensity of Birdbrain--it’s probably the album’s darkest moment. Somehow both life-affirming and wistful “Porchlight” contrasts with the way “Saving Grace” blazes through the barroom like a ‘Mats tribute. There’s no filler to be found here. “Frozen Lake” sees the band caressing acoustic guitars in comedown mode.
Let Me Come Over is kind of a short story collection with equal parts thunder and intimacy, hills and valleys, last night’s mistakes and tomorrow’s contrition. Ultimately, it’s possibility, a sense of ‘hey, this just might work’ that makes it such a deep spin 25 years later. Let Me Come Over triumphs.
“Some of the most devastatingly beautiful guitar rock of the ’90s” - Magnet

May 13 – New York, NY – Bowery Ballroom
May 27 – Portland, ME – Port City Music Hall
May 26-28 – Boston, MA – Boston Calling Festival
June 6 – Brussels, Belgium – Ancienne Belgique
June 7 – Masstrich, Holland – Muziekgieterij
June 8 – Amsterdam, Holland – Paradiso
June 9 – London, UK – Islington Assembly Hall
More tba
DOUBLE LP: Let Me Come Over + 10 live tracks (1-10) + download of full live show
LP1: Let Me Come Over
A1. Staples

A2. Taillights Fade

A3. Mountains Of Your Head
A4. Mineral

A5. Darl

B1. Larry

B2. Velvet Roof

B3. I’m Not There

B4. Stymied

B5. Porchlight

B6. Frozen Lake

B7. Saving Grace
LP2: Live from London ULU 1992
C1. Staples
C2. Taillights Fade
C3. Larry
C4. I’m Not There
C5. Velvet Roof
D1. Sunflower Suit
D2. Mineral
D3. Sally Brown
D4. Enemy
D5. Birdbrain
DOUBLE CD + DIGITAL ALBUM: Let Me Come Over + full live show (17 tracks)
Let Me Come Over
1. Staples

2. Taillights Fade

3. Mountains Of Your Head
4. Mineral

5. Darl

6. Larry

7. Velvet Roof

8. I’m Not There

9. Stymied

10. Porchlight

11. Frozen Lake

12. Saving Grace
13. Crutch *cd/digital bonus track
Live From London, ULU 1992
14. Birdbrain
15. Staples
16. Taillights Fade
17. Impossible
18. Enemy
19. Larry
20. Velvet Roof
21. Fortune Teller
22. Sally Brown
23. The Bus
24. The Crawl
25. Mineral
26. Sunflower Suit
27. I’m Not There
28. Bleeding Heart
29. Skeleton Key
30. Reason Why

Comments (1)

This comment was minimized by the moderator on the site

Their best album by a country mile. Choc full of blinders which they never bettered. One of my favourite albums of the 90s.

There are no comments posted here yet