Record Store Day 2013 - Articles - Soundblab

Record Store Day 2013

by Rich Morris Rating: Release Date:

Record Store Day, that annual celebration of all things vinyl-based, rare, musical, collectable and, lets be honest, wonderfully geeky is here again. On Saturday, April 20 Across the UK and US, independent record store will be hosting events, gigs, signings and selling loads of pant-wettingly exciting limited-edition stuff, usually on a first-come, first-served basis. Here's a round up of what's worth your attention on this most joyful of days.

Mr Mod himself, Paul Weller will be performing at the Rough Trade East store in E1 at 8pm. He also releases two new tracks, 'Flame-Out!' and 'The Olde Original', as a double a-side single. You can hear clips of the songs 

.be" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; text-decoration: none; color: rgb(255, 0, 51); font-weight: bold;">here.

For those who like their music on the ambient-industrial side (and that's all of us, right?), Nothing But Noise, featuring Front 242 man Daniel B, will release the first part of a new series called 'Music for Muted TV' on sexy 10in white vinyl. You can hear the track here. Daniel says of the project: "This music is made to watch TV with the sound muted (volume at zero). It will work well with images from movies or general TV and advertisements".

Everyone loves superhero team-ups, right? Right! Well, how about a band team-up? Grouplove and Frightened Rabbit have teamed up with Manchester Orchestra to release a very special 12in single for Record Store Day. The release features the Manchester Orchestra/Grouplove collaboration 'Make It to Me' and the Manchester Orchestra/Frightened Rabbit collaboration 'Architect' and you can hear it here.

Elsewhere, Music Finland and The Line of Best Fit has selected six (yes, six!) Finnish bands to be released on a limited 10in EP. The featured tracks can be sampled in a six-part original video series produced by Music Finland and created by Sami Sänpäkkilä, with all six being posted in sequence on The Line of Best Fit. The video series forms a narrative that pays homage to the independent ethos of Record Store Day.

Only 2,200 copies of of Music Finland with The Line of Best Fit - The Limited Record Store Day Edition 2013 will be given out to customers at all participating RSD stores across the UK. A small amount will also be circulated in France, Germany and Japan at select stores. The EP includes tracks from Pitchfork-hyped Krautrockers K-X-P; The xx's favourites Phantom, as well as electro-pop band Sin Cos Tan, legendary producer Jori Hulkkonen's new group.

The vinyl also features new material from power-pop sister duo LCMDF, played by Huw Stephens on BBC Radio 1 last year, and Husky Rescue, whose new album, The Long Lost Friend, will be released in the UK in June. The final track comes courtesy of Millennium, the new band from Ville Haimala ofthe critically acclaimed Helsinki/Berlin-based house group Renaissance Man.

Meanwhile, Dan Deacon is set to release 'Konono Ripoff No. 1' a limited 7in (500 hand-numbered worldwide). An homage to the legendary Congolese Konono Nº1, the song has been a fan favourite of Deacon's live shows for some time, yet has never been recorded until now. The 7in features two versions of the track as performed by two sets of dual drummers: KevinO'Meara and Jeremy Hyman on side a; Denny Bowen and Dave Jacober on side b.

What else, you ask? Well, Dutch Uncles have covered Grace Jones' classic 'Slave to the Rhythm' for RSD, renaming it 'Slave to the Atypical Rhythm'. You can stream it here, and it's bloody billiant, so you should do that right now. You can get the track on an exclusive 12in. Also, Best Coast will release a brand new 7in, 'Fear of My Identity'.

As if that wasn't enough, and frankly when is it ever enough for us limited-vinyl-release-collector types, here's a quick round-up of other releases:

Domino will be releasing the following:

Austra & Gina X - 'Mayan Drums' 12in

Orange Juice - You Can't Hide Your Love Forever

Orange Juice - Rip It Up

Orange Juice - Texas Fever

Orange Juice - The Orange Juice

Can's Ege Bamyasi played by Stephen Malkmus & Friends

King Creosote - That Might Well Be It, Darling CD

Austra & Gina X - 'Mayan Drums' 12in


Fire Records will be releasing:

Half Japanese - Half Gentlemen/Not Beasts four LP Boxset/3CD - boxset limited to 1000 copies

Bardo Pond - Rise Above It All, their explosive interpretation of Funkadelic's 'Maggot Brain

Giant Giant Sand - Return to Tucson - 1000 copies and 100 screen-printed copies

Sub Pop will release:

Shearwater & Sharon Van Etten's 'Stop Draggin' My Heart Around' b/w 'A Wake for the Minotaur' - Limited-edition 7in single

The Limited-edition Sub Pop 1000 compilation LP

Terminal Sales Vol. 6: The Silver Ticket, Sub Pop's free 19-Track 2013 label sampler CD

For a full list of participating stores, visit